LET UPDATE OUR VOCABULARY SOURCES 2

1. An understatement

I think too much is an understatement.

When we make an understatement we use words that are not strong enough to talk about how bad or serious something is.

Ex

1.1. To say Afganistan is not so safe is an understatement. It’s very dangerous.

1.2. With Thai food I think too spicy is an understatement. It’s super hot.

2. Hold on to

What things do you hold on to?

When we hold on to something, it means we keep it, usually for a long time.

Ex

2.1. I don’t like working in customer service but I’m going to hold on to my job until the economy improves.

2.2. When Francois went to America he gave away almost everything but he held on to his DVD collection.

3. Tons

I have tons of handbags.

Here, tons mean a lot of. It can be countable or uncountable.

Ex

3.1. Since she quit her job, Elena has tons of free time.

3.2. I download all my music so I have torns of CD’s that I never listen to.

4. Let it go

I tried to not buy it or let it go.

To let it go means to forget about something we are or have been thinking seriously about.

Ex

4.1. I love the new Apple iPad but it’s so expensive. I need to let it go for now.

4.2. Jack’s girlfriend broke up with him. He had a hard time letting it go of the relationship.

5. Yardsale

I think we should have a yardsale.

In America, for example we have an outdoor sale of used personal or household  items we  no longer need or use. The sale is usually held in front of our home.

Ex

5.1. The Smith family had a big yardsale before they moved to the new house.

5.2. The garage is really cluttered. I think we should have a yard sale and get rid of some stuff.

We’re happy to get your comments

iziEnglish.net

Leave a Reply

