LET UPDATE OUR VOCABUALRY SOURCES 4

Let music over your heart by open it in new tab

1. As much as I used to

I don’t buy newspapers as much as I used to.
‘As much as I used to’ compares something you did a lot in the past with something you don’t do very much now. The phrase is always used with a negative word such as don’t , trying not to, haven’t etc.

Ex
1.1. This year I’m going to try not to eat chocolate as much as I used to.
1.2. You don’t take me out to dinner as much as you used to.

2. I get a lot of enjoyment out of
I get a lot of enjoyment out of reading books.
Getting a lot of enjoyment out of something is when something makes you happy. It is the same as saying ‘I enjoy reading books’.

Ex
2.1. I get a lot of enjoyment out of playing with my dog.
2.2. My dog gets a lot of enjoyment out of chasing a stick.

3. I do listen
I don’t like technology, but I do listen to ebook on the computer.
I do listen is the same as saying I listen but adding do shows that maybe someone thought that you didn’t feel a certain way so you use do to emphasize it. Do can be used with other verbs to clear up doubts that listeners have.

Ex
A: Why don’t you ever speak in class?
B: I do speak in class when I’m in small groups but I’m shy in front of everyone.
A: You didn’t bring your lunch today?
B: I did bring my lunch but I already ate it.

4. Therapeutic
I love ebooks because they are very therapeutic.
Therapeutic is the adjective forms of the word therapy. If something is therapeutic, it makes you feel better.

Ex
4.1. Taking a bath when you’re stressed out can be very therapeutic.
4.2. I took a little therapeutic hike in the mountains on the weekend.

5. A big part of play
Technology has had a big part of play in how much I do that.
When something has a big part of play, it means that it is very important. It wouldn’t be the same without it.

Ex
5.1. My music teacher has a big part of play in how much I love music.
5.2. The loaction has a big part of play in the success of a business.

We hope that this source can be useful for you. Have a nice day, friends.

izienglish.net

Leave a Reply

